The Last Day of the Last NaNo

November 30, that day of reckoning.

I have a confession: I gave up on NaNoWriMo somewhere around the end of week 2. I had pretty much assumed there would be a break in the process, as their usually is, for my annual Ren Faire sewing project. What I did not count on was being flattened with a cold in the wake of that expedition and thence pushed straight into the holiday visit from my husband’s family.

When I took off from trying for a daily count, I had already decided that I wasn’t going to hit 50,000 words, and that this is probably the last year I will actually try NaNo. A friend and I were discussing the benefits and drawbacks of the NaNo pace, and both of us concluded that it’s a good shot in the arm but not the way we prefer to produce. For me it got words flowing again, and that was what I really wanted. I don’t think I will go through a dry spell like this early fall was for a long time in the future, and I enjoyed the chance to work on a project without pressure and without caring what the result was. But…it’s not how I produce, just shoving words out, and I was doing fairly well at producing until this pregnancy whacked my brain out of alignment. Now it’s back in equilibrium, and I can go back to how I function best.

So my final stat is actually kind of pathetic for a NaNo attempt: 10,873 words.

Sadly, I did not even hit my compromise-goal win by finishing the prologue. I think I could have if not for getting sick…I have between 2 and 4 scenes of it left, which equates to somewhere between 1600 and 5000 words. With this past week to work instead of lie on my couch in a daze that would have been attainable, considering I know the content of all remaining scenes in the prologue.

I am not sure what I do from here–stick with this story at least till I have written through the parts I know and possibly beyond if it keeps revealing itself to me as I move forward, or go back to the short I was working on, or back to the novel I started over the summer, or revise the novel I finished last spring and get into its side novellas…so many, many options, none of them tugging strongly at me. As long as I am writing something, I suppose, I frankly don’t care what it is.

In the meantime, I also need to get my Christmas novel published. My goal is to finalize formatting next weekend and have it up no later than December 15. Formal announcements as soon as I have it in readiness.

4 Comments

Filed under Housekeeping, NaNoWriMo Updates, Writing

4 responses to “The Last Day of the Last NaNo

  1. miguelalex888

    “As long as I am writing something, I suppose, I frankly don’t care what it is.” Well said! Sorry to hear your NaNoWriMo didn’t go as planned but I wish you luck in your journey to publishing with the other novel!

    • 🙂

      Well, to be fair, the *main* goal for NaNo was getting words flowing again (as I alluded to in the post, the first few months of pregnancy really did a number on my ability to write) so in terms of THAT, it was a success. But 50K is always a nice feather in the cap, not to mention a great start on a new project.

Leave a Reply

