Five Days, Seven Thousand Words

That says it all, yes?

But when do I ever stop at paucity?

I have been consistent about sitting down to write first thing every morning. Some days I have hit my word goal before I got up again, others I’ve hit 400 words and stopped. On some of those days I came back to it later and others I did not. Obviously, since my daily average is 1400 – not quite the 1677 or whatever you’re supposed to hit daily to make the 50K in a month – I’ve had days where I made up ground from those 400 caps.

The main thing that I wanted out of attempting NaNoWriMo this year was to make writing easy and enjoyable again, after a long dry spell and struggles before that. So far, so good.

In terms of what the production has been: three scenes of the prologue down. Thought for a hot minute that the prologue was going to jump from 12K to 20K, then realized I was trying to include part of the main narrative in the prologue, so the projection is down to more like 15K. Still a helluva prologue.

The words have been flowing easy, both in the sense of my mental ability and the place I am taking the narrative. That latter being said…so far I am also still comfortably within the part I had mentally outlined, rather than the cliff of insanity that is me attempting to write a story I haven’t pre-discovered. Remains to be seen if the going stays this easy.

For now, I feel really satisfied with how far I’ve come and hopeful about where I’m going.

4 Comments

Filed under NaNoWriMo Updates

4 responses to “Five Days, Seven Thousand Words

  1. I need to get 3000-3600 finished words per week; I’m being serialized MWF at VentureGalleries.com, and that’s the rate they’re going to put up every week (1000-1200 a pop); with life events that many words haven’t happened this week – but I don’t want to lose too much of my buffer.

    I empathize with your goals. This isn’t making cookies – no easy recipe. You can’t count on output. I can’t, anyway, not and have the results be worth anything. I’m learning how to focus better. I could never attempt to write as much as you’re doing, not even if it doesn’t have to be finished work – hope it keeps going for you.

    • Congratulations! That’s awesome news!

      I think you are very smart to maintain a buffer. Your comment is dead-on: “You can’t count on output.” No. I don’t know if you have followed Dean Wesley Smith’s writing in public or “ghostwriting a novel in 10 days” posts, but his production is not static day-to-day. The most important things are (1) putting yourself back in front of your writing and (2) writing when you get there. Even short sessions add up if you do enough of them. My eternal problem is always not being good at forcing in the time, and not being able to concentrate during the natural breaks in my day that could be used for writing (lunch, after work/before dinner, after dinner). I am hoping NaNo helps inspire me out of some of that!

      Really i do think the most important thing is to just show up as often as you can at the keyboard and keep the story uppermost in your mind. Often when i take breaks of days or weeks i have to waste a lot of time and mental energy re-orienting myself. when i am working on something daily, especially multiple times a day, that goes away. Hopefully the same is true for you!!

  2. Breaks are all accidents – life interferes with Art.

    My aim is to produce lots and lots of words every day, and hope some of them end up as good fiction.

    I can’t guarantee usable output, but I CAN generate words onto screen or paper. Or rather, I can’t NOT generate words.

    Sometimes they end up in the comments sections of other people’s blogs – that what the little text boxes are, open invitations to strangers to say what’s on their minds – but often they end up in the Scrivener files associated with a particular scene.

    DH is probably glad he doesn’t have to listen to the wordage that comes out every day. I’m just glad to get them out of my head.

Leave a Reply

