If You Won’t Tell Me, Someone Else Will

Or, No (Fictional) Man Is An Island

Ugh. The hero of this little short, which should be totally easy to write, is being stubborn and cynical and refusing to let me get much inside his head.

I made the executive decision to have him meet the heroine in the most logical places the first few times (logical meaning where were they both most likely to be given the people they know and the things they do with their time) and to just start writing and see what he does. I figured even if I wrote it all wrong the first time and had to re-do the work, at least eliminating the wrong path would help me figure out the right one, thus writing even at the risk of having to re-write was better than sitting paralyzed, waiting for him to trust me enough to let me in.

No update on how this has gone; my husband is on his off days right now and keeping me up too late to get up early enough for writing. Not that I am complaining. 🙂  The reprieve also gives me a couple more days to batter away at hero’s inner walls.

In the meantime, I have also discovered his song, and in a way having this song to speak for him makes getting inside his head irrelevant. The songwriter described so perfectly the dynamic between the hero and the heroine that…I almost don’t even need to be more intimately in his mind to write the story. This is me sticking my tongue out at my hero.

There are ways, dude. You don’t want to know. But there are ways.

The song? For the curious: “Easy” by Roger Clyne & the Peacemakers. I couldn’t find a youtube video of the song that I liked enough to use as your introduction to it. I recommend just previewing on iTunes or Amazon if you want to hear it.

“I don’t know how you got through security, you picked all my locks by being so low-key. I’ve never been easy, but I’ll be easy for you…. So, baby, what am I up to? Getting back into another thing I said I’d never do…I’ve never been easy, but I’ll be easy for you”

Yeah. Who needs a hero when you have a songwriter around?

Leave a comment

Filed under Muse Music, Writing

Leave a Reply

