Isn’t That a Wonderful Beginning?

I’m going to make a terribly self-aggrandizing confession: I love the way I open stories.

I realized this today as I was reading through the 7% or so of the Christmas short that I had written prior to my drop-all-writing-to-sew month. I know a lot of writers struggle with how to begin a story. I don’t. 99% of the time, I start writing a story because the opening pops into my head. I write it down and find myself curious about the story. I want to know more. I must know what happened, how the character came to be there or what happens from there or both. I am an intuitive story-starter, if you will.

I am feeling a little better about the short today. After reading through all thousand or so words I had written, as well as all pertinent discussions in the novel about how this courtship was conducted, I have a little more clarity about where the hero, at least, needs to be on the day everything comes to a head. I already knew the heroine’s emotional process; his was the one that remained elusive.

I am still not quite ready to start writing what happens next. I am still not sure which version of the story is the right one, but at least I have the possibilities narrowed down to basically two thematic choices, and what remains to be done now is to decide which is the more compelling story for this particular hero’s personality. In order to make that decision I had to spend a bit of time reacquainting myself with him, and his dynamic with his bride. Now I just need the peace and quiet of a darkened mind to think through the implications. I am hoping that tomorrow when I get up I will have attained clarity.

For now, I have a wonderful beginning that makes me, at least, want to read more. Now to be sure the rest of the story lives up to it….

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

