The Only Compliment a Romance Writer Needs

Got feedback from another beta reader, someone who does not normally read romance but knows me personally and thus reads mine. She agreed with my executive decision to cut the out-and-out sex scene, citing its lack of necessity to the plot or their relationship, which had pre-marriage moments of passion that were (well) short of sex. Her confession: “Still, those parts of the story were just titillating enough to make me very eager to see my husband come home from his business trip!” 

Well. Hot damn. That is the best and only compliment I could hope to receive about my romance writing. My work here is done, folks.

4 Comments

Filed under Reflections on Romance, What People Think, Writing

4 responses to “The Only Compliment a Romance Writer Needs

  1. Gwen

    Ha! Sounds good to me!

  2. You might want to use that compliment as a marketing blurb to husbands. They’d have so much to gain from buying a copy for the missus!

Leave a Reply

