No, no, it’s research!

ruby red port

I finally broke down and tried port. I was buying wine for dinner the other night and happened to stumble into the port section, and I just thought…why not? I’m curious what the gentlemen are always drinking after dinner in the novels I read (and write!). Any proper historical fiction writer would know.

This…is so much more like alcoholic grape juice than actual wine is! Wow. Port is super-sweet. I did not expect that. (Also way more alcoholic than regular red wine. Did not expect that, either.) I kind of like it, though.

I started with the very cheapest bottle, since the bottles were all smaller than regular wine and I didn’t want to spend a lot of money on a style of beverage I wasn’t sure I liked. Now I feel much more confident trying some of the more expensive and, it is to be presumed, better quality ports available to me. We’ll see if I continue to like them as I climb the scale of nicety. 🙂

In the meantime…here muse-y, muse-y, muse-y. I have your favorite 19th century gentleman’s drink….

2 Comments

Filed under Cocktails, Research

2 responses to “No, no, it’s research!

  1. Pacifique absinthe is really good, especially when it’s served in the old-fashioned way.

    • I have tried Lucid and…bah, I forget the name of the other. Pacifique doesn’t sound like the one, though. Absinthe is another drink I could write to, probably, because I have to take very small sips so one glass would last me hours (which is why I could write to it, because, unlike all the great American writers of the early 20th century, I can’t write drunk. Drinking is my reward for having written, not my inspiration to write 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

