NaNoWriMo 2/3 Progress Report

Sadly there is not much change to report from last time.  I lost most of a week to traveling, costuming, and finishing up a sewing commission due by the middle of the month.  Then I lost this past weekend to my day job on Saturday and some of hubs and my mutual friends on Sunday, who always seem to require a full day when we go out with them. So last night and this morning were the first opportunities I’ve had to get much done since the 9th.

One of these years, man, I really must give NaNo an actual try instead of selling my writing time short for other obligations. Isn’t that the entire point of the month?

Anyway, I still have Thanksgiving Day and this coming weekend to get piles done. I have not yet given up hope of finishing the novella this month, at least, though I doubt I will finish both it and the novel. Not unless I break a leg or something and and have to spend a few days on forced bed rest where my mind and hands are active and available.

As of now, my word total is around 14K, 11K of which are straight forward progress on the story. I am finding it easier to write scenes as I come to them rather than sketching them in advance (though obviously that is happening some), and I’m not sure if it’s because I’m doing less central planning or because this piece is a novella versus a novel, so it’s easier to keep the threads in mind all at once.

All in all, I’m okay with where I’m at.  I would have loved to be further along, but under the constraints of my actual life this is not an abject failure. Yet. 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under NaNoWriMo Updates

Leave a Reply

