I Find the Notion a Bit…Kinky, to Use the Parlance of Our Times

Or, All the words I need were apparently not invented until this century.

Crossword clue of the day: A Regency gentleman’s synonym for “kinky.”

Seriously, if you have that word please let me know. I think “perverted” might be a bit too strong (if it even would have existed at the time, which I have not checked because it is too strong), and none of the words I could think of that spoke to discomfort with a thought quite implied the sexual undertone I need.

The basic idea is, my hero thinks it’s weird that a woman would share dresses with her brother’s mistress, because (as the brother) would you really want to hang out with your sister while she’s in a dress you last saw when you were getting freaky with your paramour?  It’s…a bit kinky, to my hero’s way of thinking.  But there are no words for that level of slightly squicky but maybe not full-on incestuous perversion, at least not that my mind can conjure.

Sigh. Sometimes I hate the fact that I use the OED. My life as a writer of historical romance would be SO MUCH EASIER if I just used all the words available to my modern tongue and didn’t much care if my characters were thinking in words that did not exist yet in their lexicons of English.  Alas, I know better, and while I am sure some modernisms slip through my period-appropriate-filters despite my best efforts, I cannot knowingly let one bypass the screening.

I am not the romance novel equivalent of the ATF, is what I’m saying.

Leave a comment

Filed under Ramblings, Writing

Leave a Reply

