Monday Morning Like Joan Wilder

Or, There’s nothing like a racy scene to get your day started off right.

My current work in progress has a sex scene pretty early on–it’s one of those romance plots where a sexual encounter works as a catalyst to begin a relationship that would otherwise never have developed.

Yesterday I finished the scene leading into that encounter.  So when my alarm went off at 5:15 this morning, it was for one purpose, and one purpose only:  so that I could get up two hours early and write a sex scene.

That, my friends, is called winning.

This is the glamorous life of a romantic novelist that I have been dreaming about since I first saw Romancing the Stone.   

The best part?  I didn’t quite get the scene finished…which means Tuesday will have exactly the same agenda. Darn.

2 Comments

Filed under Ramblings, Reflections on Romance, Writing

2 responses to “Monday Morning Like Joan Wilder

  1. Lucy

    Wahahahha!! That is awesome. How many people get to claim this agenda in their mornings? Not many, that’s for sure. I guess I never thought of what bad ass perks come from being a romance writer. Good for you, girl, and I bet you didn’t need as much coffee or tea to get you going either of those mornings, did ya? 😉

    • It was the first morning I truly felt like a romance writer in the way I used to imagine being a working romance writer would feel like, that’s for sure! And, no, I did NOT need as much caffeine as usual. 🙂

Leave a Reply

