The Only Way to Write

Or, The Commemorative 100th Post

One of the most common pieces of writing advice I see is to “write the story you want to read.”

It’s good advice, and thorough. 

It’s worth following, because it is true. 

Writing can be lonely, isolating, disheartening.  Writing can be hard, when you are uncertain about a character or a scene or a story, when the words don’t come easy and for every sentence that stays in you have written three others and removed them as being not right. 

But what keeps me writing on those days, what keeps me working when I would otherwise give up, is when I’m writing a story that I want to read.

Right now, after my epiphany two weekends ago, I cannot wait to read the story I’m working on right now. I am loving the process of uncovering my hero’s character, and I am enjoying seeing him react to the different layers of my heroine as he uncovers them.  I am so excited to have the story in hand, excited to share it with my beta readers, excited to put it out in the world for the public. 

And I still have so far to go. I am hating that I can’t write faster, hating that I don’t have more time to write, hating how antsy I am to get to the end just so I can finally read it.

And that is exactly where a writer needs to be.  The only thing that will sustain a story, the only thing that will make you make time to write, figure out how to write faster, inspire you to do more with less, is to want so desperately to have this story for yourself that you will make it your first priority.

4 Comments

Filed under Writing

4 responses to “The Only Way to Write

  1. I couldn’t agree more. You know you’ve hit upon the right subject matter, characters, and plot when it feels as if you’re discovering the story rather than creating it. I’ve also found readers can tell when you’re excited about the story their reading. The intensity gets transferred to the page and your readers get to relive your discovery process. It’s perfect symbiosis.

    • Exactly! I think one of the biggest challenges for writers (or at least for me…) is figuring out whether a story will have that power for me when I’m early on in the creative process. There’s nothing worse than starting a story and then realizing you don’t have a STORY, you just have a situation. But then there’s nothing better than 2 years later popping open that old file and finding a story for it at last!

  2. Best advice, I agree. If you’re not interested in what you’re writing, why should your audience/readers be? Super news that you’re in a great writing space.

Leave a Reply

