Nominated for a Versatile Blogger Award

I think to “accept” this I have to play the meme rules*.  They are hard.  Name 15 newly discovered blogs that I would nominate? Dango Boomhaur whistle, I’m not sure I regularly read 15 blogs, much less have 15 I would recommend to everyone. So I am not really playing the game but in the spirit of being nominated I did want to offer a few pointers and shout-outs. 

First thanks to sometimes-commenter hannahkarena of the (Writer’s) Waiting Room blog for the nomination and for liking my blog here so well!  This is what she had to say about it:

Lily White LeFevre is another writing blog (noticing a theme here?) which I am very fond of.  Mostly writes about the composition process surrounding novels and full-length manuscripts.

(Which doesn’t make me sound very versatile but is an accurate assessment. 🙂 )

And in the spirit of not being an isolationist grimalkin, I will offer up the blogs I do check either day or weekly.

If you are a writer considering self-publishing:

David Gaughran Let’s Get Digital

Derek Haines’ offshoot from his Word Vandal blog (which is a humorous writer/observer blog all on its own!), The Indie Voice

Passive Guy’s Passive Voice Blog – updates multiples times daily, so I check daily.

Between these three you’ll get links to any new traditional publishing and market disruption kerfuffles going on, as well as articles from the other three big indie advisors I have encountered, Dean Wesley Smith, Kristine Kathryn Rusch (The Business Rusch), and Joe Konrath. So I probably check in with all three of them on a regular basis, but it’s more on an article by article or twice-monthly to make sure I didn’t miss something schedule. 

If you are looking for some free writing to enjoy, Screen Scribbla (a regular commenter here) writes a lot of flash, poetry, and connected shorts.  Here’s a link my favorite poem he’s written, which I find truly haunting:  “Shipwreck”

Plantain Periodicals is, like me, an in-the-process writer, who I think has a thoughtful perspective on the craft.

That’s really about it for people I check in with frequently. 

It’s a short list because it is not meant to be inclusive, just a quick hitlist of blogs I check often.  I read a lot of blogs that I only visit once a month or so, or if a post gets linked to in my Twitter feed and sounds interesting. I read a lot of publishing industry perspectives, just to keep my eyes on life as the other side of the fence sees it.  I check in with relatively few “established” authors, because, honestly, few authors (at least of those I read) actually blog.  Sure, they keep a “blog” on their website, but it’s not a daily or even weekly space but rather a place for news, announcements, and op-eds.  The blogging author?  That’s a development of the new generation of writers who come to public life in the midst of social media proliferation. Hm. Expect a post on that at some point…. I check in with a lot of writers and writing blogs but, again, more on an every-couple-weeks schedule.

Thanks again to hannahkarenna for the kind words!  

*Official rules for The Versatile Blogger Award:

  • Post a link to the person who gave you the award.
  • Tell your readers seven random things about yourself.
  • Award 15 newly discovered blogs.
  • Send them a note letting them know you nominated them.
2 Comments

Filed under What People Think

2 responses to “Nominated for a Versatile Blogger Award

  1. Oh, wow! What a surprise to see my name mentioned amongst such fabulous bloggers. Thank you very, very much for the kind words and for the award. I thoroughly enjoy reading and commenting on your site as it keeps my mind and ideas ticking over! You are a deserved awardee yourself.

Leave a Reply

