“So No One Ever Taught You Not to Use the Word You’re Defining in the Definition”

Or, A word I didn’t know I needed until I found it!

Observe: parergon \pa-RUR-gon\, noun:
1. Work undertaken in addition to one’s principal work.
2. Something that is an accessory to a main work or subject; embellishment.

Is this not the most useful of words for a writer with a day job?  And writers in general who find themselves writing things such as short stories about characters or other ephemera not directly used in a novel (such as letters, gossip columns, flashbacks that get whittled down from 3000 words to 300) to use for promotional purposes? 

I fully intend to lodge this word firmly into my lexicon of English and use it when I find the opportunity.  You might say that is my parergon to writing today….

3 Comments

Filed under Ramblings

3 responses to ““So No One Ever Taught You Not to Use the Word You’re Defining in the Definition”

  1. Very appropriate. Thanks for sharing.

  2. :) exactly my thought. glad you enjoyed and/or found it useful!

  3. Wonderful posting. Continue to keep up the excellent performance.

Leave a Reply

